MISC: Royal Ballet’s Apprentice Choreographer, Charlotte Edmonds

Some awesome, positive, inspiring news out of England via Evening Standard:

British choreographer Charlotte Edmonds joins Royal Ballet as a year-long apprentice which Edmonds began last September, shadowing choreographer Wayne McGregor and making her own pieces at every opportunity.

untitled

“Anger, love, any kind of emotion,” she says. “I love it when I come out of a theatre and I’m completely crying and it makes me reflect on my own life. That’s the feeling I want when someone watches my piece.”

Charlotte-Edmonds-in-rehear

She is about to start workshops with Northern Ballet using a Zadie Smith story, The Girl with Bangs, about a university student who has a relationship with another woman, and she’s excited about choreographing a female pas de deux, something you don’t normally (or ever) see in ballet.

Leave a Reply

